About the Role

The role of the Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) is to be the voice of the people, to lead policing and criminal justice within their geographical area of responsibility and to hold Chief Constables and the police force to account.

Police and Crime Commissioners are publically-elected officials who are responsible for the totality of policing, aiming to cut crime and deliver an effective and efficient police service in their area, ensuring that the police are answerable to the communities they serve.

On top of this, Police and Crime Commissioners work closely with agencies and partners across the criminal justice system – such as the Director of Public Health, to prevent and tackle drugs use – to ensure better services and support for victims of crime.

Responsible for ensuring community needs are met as effectively as possible, Police and Crime Commissioners look to improve local relationships with citizens and the police through building confidence and restoring trust, and aim to better connect work to prevent crime and anti-social behaviour, and to deal with offenders. PCCs work in partnership across a range of agencies at local levels to ensure there is a unified approach across the county in preventing and reducing crime.

Under the terms of the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011, Police and Crime Commissioners must:

  • Secure an efficient and effective police for their area;
  • Appoint the Chief Constable, hold them to account for running the force, and if necessary dismiss them;
  • Set the police and crime objectives for their area through a five-year police and crime plan;
  • Set the force budget and determine the council tax costs to effectively deliver policing services;
  • Contribute to the national and international policing capabilities set out by the Home Secretary;
  • Bring together community safety and criminal justice partners, to make sure local priorities are joined up.

Police and Crime Commissioners are accountable to a Police and Crime Panel, made up of councillors and independent members.